2nd Day of Period | January 31st [Nurse’s Visit]

My nurse was… fantastic. She was incredibly funny, was so easy to talk to, related to my sleeping anxiety, (she takes sleeping pills from South America that her mother brings her and I’ve never respected someone more)

I got a lot of good info – starting on Menopur & Gonal-F. Will be taking them between 7-10pm: pick a time and stick to it every day. I’ll start Ganirelix halfway through to hold ovulation and growth of larger follicles, this will be in the morning and can be harder – needle is a little blunt so you need to ‘jab.’ this will happen when two or more follicles are 18mm in size. 

Triggers will happen 35 hours before the retrieval. All triggers go in belly, which is different than some info on the CVS pharmacy page. 

Better to inject below belly button like a smile – alternate sides for Menopur & Gonal-F. Injecting above the belly button can bruise and hurt more. 

I’ll come in for a blood test and vaginal ultrasound every 2-3 days in the beginning, then every other day, then every day closer to retrieval 

The procedure usually takes about 15-20 minutes, but you’re put under so someone needs to be there to take you home. The recovery is 30-45 min so they said my pick up person could come an hour after the day 

Since it’s Monday, the 2nd day of my period – she said I would come in for my first cycle appt tomorrow morning, then come back in Friday, and then again on Monday where I would likely see the most follicle growth. 

I’m able to start birth control once I get my next period which she said usually comes about 2 weeks after procedures. 

When it came to coffee/alcohol she said the process is dehydrating so I should drink 8-10 glasses of water a day, stick to one cup of coffee a day, and no alcohol. And then she said “But if you’re having a rough day and you want a drink, just have an extra glass of water” which I really appreciated

Leave a comment